NaBloPoMo: If I had a million dollars..

If you found one million dollars in the morning and had to spend it by nightfall, what would you do with the money?

We’ve all heard it a million times. If you found one million dollars, what would you do with it? 

I have an answer of my own, of course. Pay off my student loans, buy a house, put away some money for my young cousins to go to college, etc. But this is different. The option of saving up is out the window. The possibility of investment, shopping around, making smart purchases, living life comfortably.. all of those things are out the window. 

This scenario is asking you to be selfish, forcing you to make rash decisions. For one day of your life, you can have everything you want, but you’ll never be able to go back to that freedom. 

I don’t think I could do it. Yeah, I could still pay off my loans, I could grab a house, maybe a car, if I think fast and don’t shop around. I would go to the mall, get myself something pretty. Then what? Are war bonds still an option? Can I somehow squirrel it away? 

The more I think about it, the less I know what I would do. And it makes me realize.. the draw of this fantasy isn’t about having so much money. It isn’t about what you can buy. It’s about being comfortable. Having peace of mind. When you take that away and force the money into a twelve hour shopping spree, the comfort is gone. That’s not to say I wouldn’t enjoy it, but I would definitely have to get creative. Maybe I could quickly hire someone to help me..?

(the intentional mom could probably give me some budgeting tips..)

One thought on “NaBloPoMo: If I had a million dollars..

Leave a Reply

