It’s Alive!

A few nights ago, my laptop had an unfortunate meeting with my water bottle. I won’t go into specifics, but I was in bad shape over it. I mean, I’m in grad school. My laptop is my life (for better or worse).

After spending over an hour crying big tears to my mother (and poor Steve, who probably did not want to hear from me at midnight about this), I finally resigned myself to this new life and went to bed, mostly due to the fact that I had to be on campus early the next morning.

I like to think I’m pretty decent in crisis situations. I act quickly and, more often than not, appropriately. But what do you do when faced with an unexpected flood? My answer.. flip it all upside down, pop off the keys, take out the battery, and hair dry the shit out of it. Then, resist the urge to try turning it on for the next two days.

Luckily, my mother is a saint and sent her computer to me overnight. I got home with that computer, took a deep breath, and figured it was as good a time as any to reconstruct the corpse that was my beloved HP.

And then I nearly fell over when it turned on.

I nearly cried tears of joy. Maybe I’m not so unlucky after all. 

Leave a Reply

