Guest (inspired) post

A friend (who shall remained unnamed and whose permission for this post is pending) contacted me in reply to Friday’s post on Bricks and Balloons. (Really though, sweetie, let me know if you want me to take it down, but know that I love having your perspective showcased!) Following my guidelines that every brick needs two balloons to lift it off the ground:

Brick: Feeling overwhelmed about this new life.

Trust me, I obviously feel like I’m in way over my head, but I’m super confident that we are all getting the hang of it. Soon, we’ll be floating on a raft of … I don’t know. That metaphor got away from me quickly.

Balloon: Reading this blog and knowing I have someone to try new things with.

Of course! New experiences are one of my goals for the next two years. I can’t see the reason in saying that there’s nothing to do or being bored when there’s a whole world and a new city to explore! It brings to mind a quote.

“I’m bored’ is a useless thing to say. I mean, you live in a great, big, vast world that you’ve seen none percent of. Even the inside of your own mind is endless; it goes on forever, inwardly, do you understand? The fact that you’re alive is amazing, so you don’t get to say ‘I’m bored.”

― Louis CK
(Hey, no one ever said every quote had to come from a spacey philosopher.)

I’m glad my blog makes at least one person feel at least a little good.

Balloon: Our fellow speeches are the most fun people on campus.          

Well, duh! (and we’re pretty badass, too.)

 

One thought on “Guest (inspired) post

Leave a Reply

